Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Brace Yourself for "A Clockwork Orange Meets The Social Network"

"We Live In Public" has got to be the most important documentary for all of us to see RIGHT NOW because it addresses the fragmentation of our psyches--(individual and collective) --displaying fully how we've all gotten disconnected from our own hearts and minds and, subsequently, disconnected from each other and from everything that matters. We simply cannot sustain our ability to CARE about the environment or about teen suicide or about any of the "societal/global ills" for which we fleetingly wave banners when we've collectively agreed to being 100% addicted to sitting and staring into illuminated plastic boxes all day long, engaging only the most superficial aspects of our inner selves and shutting down the rest. It's SO insidious--and the younger people have no frame of reference for any other way of living. Young people's baseline orientation to enjoying a rock concert or a day at the beach or an art exhibit or an anything else (YOU-NAME-IT) is to text about it and/or film it with a smart phone and/or write a status update about it, rather than give themselves over to the experience. Being PRESENT in one's life is not a priority anymore; stepping back and COMMENTING on one's life has become the norm--as is laid out SO THOROUGHLY and EXPLICITLY in that movie. Man oh man oh MAN!!

I feel passionate about sharing this movie with folks, but I also feel like I have to warn them: "Brace yourselves, my friends. This is an exceedingly tough MIRROR being held up here." I mean, I suppose we COULD tell ourselves that this is simply "a movie about some eccentric Dot-Com Dude who indulged in extravagant Reality TV experiments 10 years ago," but puh-leeze! This is a documentary about OUR lives--about something that has completely infiltrated our day-to-day operations, personally and professionally--and we are NOT just watching this phenomenon from the outside--we are actively PARTICIPATING in it! (I'm participating at this very moment, ferfucksake.) One reviewer called it "a cautionary tale" but I call it a BALLS-OUT CONFRONTATION of our life in the new millennium!

That said, as disturbing as it all is--I DO believe that this is a phase in our evolvement, and it will lead to the next thing and the next thing--and we will grow from the pain. I DO believe that. And we will suffer, too, of course. Absolutely. We are already suffering. But we will grow, too. More to say on this...later!)

Here's the link to the movie--it's free on Hulu for the next few weeks:

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Tortured Prophet, Richard Dreyfuss

I promised my dear friend, Evan Merida, that I'd blog about my experience of Richard Dreyfuss' talk on Monday. So here I am, blogging about it. More than anything, I just wanna keep my promise to Evan, so I'll probably go back and do this all over again. The truth is, I've got a lot to say about it--but I probably can't muster it at 10:38 pm. Here goes nuthin'...

The focus of Richard's lecture was the fact that America has lost so much ground in the world, and how its citizens are sorely lacking a basic understanding of what it means to be American, that we are tragically in the dark in terms of how miraculous and amazing America is.

Rather than recap his lecture, I'll attach excerpts from an article I found on a website called "UVA Today," and will add my own comments at the end.

***************excerpts from article***************
Dreyfuss' zeal and conviction were palpable as he discussed the importance of teaching civics in a nation bound together only by ideas, rather than ancestry, religion or ethnicity. "The American system requires the involvement of intelligent people in citizenship and governance," Dreyfuss said Monday at the University of Virginia. "Everyone in the world knows that America is a miracle – except Americans, because we don't teach it anymore."

"America is the greatest answer to a question that has been asked for 13,000 years: 'How can people live together with some sense of mobility and freedom and intellectual freedom and opportunity?' So far, we are the best answer by leagues."

"Just as people require extensive training to be a driver, pilot, doctor, or lawyer," Dreyfuss said, "they require education in citizenship to develop the basic pre-partisan tools of politics in order to be responsible sovereigns of a government of the people, by the people, for the people."

At times during his talk, Dreyfuss was evocative of a prophet frustrated with the heedlessness of his people, most notably when he stressed the urgency of this crisis of uninformed citizenry. He suggested that America's decline, like Rome's, would be a gradual process of rot from within rather than a turning-point event, but could happen within the lifetimes of our grandchildren.

He lamented the corporate takeover of American media, which compromises the independence of journalists. TV news, in particular, "makes big things small, and small things big," he said.

"But there is one root cause of all these factors contributing to a decline in citizenship," Dreyfuss said, once again sounding prophetic: "The real villain here, about all of this, is you and me. We have lost our ability to sustain outrage."
***************end of excerpts***************

The thing that struck me, beyond the topics he was covering, was Richard's mental/emotional state, which was notably despondent. His points were provocative (and indisputable, to the best of my knowledge) but he presented such a doomsday picture of things, free-associating about the ills of our country, essentially communicating, "THIS is fucked up and THAT is fucked up, and THIS is fucked up, and THAT is fucked up." I didn't disagree with ANY of his points, but man! I wanted to jump up and shout the famous Harvey Milk quote: "You gotta give 'em HOPE, Richard!"

Poor Richard didn't seem like he had much hope to give. He pretty much just took the lid off The Big Pot of Icky, scraped up all the encrusted junk from the bottom, stirred it around, shoved our noses down in it and said, "You see that?? You smell that?? You're ingesting that stuff every day! And you might not realize it now, but that stuff is TOXIC--and it's gonna kill you! It's gonna kill ALL of us. It IS killing all of us." His entire presentation was driven by that sentiment, and he never offered any tangible steps to rectify the situation, other than to reinstate Civics in our middle schools.

I really didn't know what to make of his morose state, and I'm quite sure that other people were confused by it as well. At one point, he did say, "I was much more lively during the morning presentation." (There'd been a morning session from 11 to 12.) "But over the last few hours, I've just gotten sadder and sadder." While he was unmistakably passionate about the points he was making, he simultaneously seemed like a little kid who was angry because his parents had forced him to come downstairs and join in the family's Thanksgiving dinner celebration when all he really wanted to do was to stay in his room and play with his toys. "I'm in a BAD MOOD. And I'm gonna STAY in a bad mood! And I'm gonna make you all sit and WATCH me, cuz I want you to SEE just HOW BAD of a mood I'm in!" (stomp, stomp!) Depressed and passionate at the same time.

The moderator for this session was one of those new millennium, not-retarded-for-real-but-acts-retarded-anyway college girls who was doing that mumbly, insecure 3rd grader, garbled baby-talk thing that college girls have increasingly been doing over the last 10 years. I was embarrassed for Charlottesville and for UVA (and for the entire audience) that this girl had been chosen to run the Richard Dreyfuss event.

The afternoon session had been billed specifically as a Q&A and was scheduled to run for 90 minutes--from 3:00-4:30 pm. After only THREE people had gotten their questions answered, the moderator-girl suddenly said to us (out of nowhere--in her retarded baby-talk voice): "Okay, everybody. Please join me in thanking Mr. Dreyfuss for coming here today," and cut the session short by a half-hour. We all just sat there, confused, clapping half-heartedly, looking like we'd just been hit in the face with a flounder.

While people swarmed around Richard in the adjacent foyer, I went back into the auditorium to check the time. The not-retarded-so-why-do-you-and-your-fellow-not-retarded-college-girlfriends-talk-that way moderator-girl was still milling around, straightening up the room. It was only 4:05, and I asked her why we hadn't gone the entire 90 minutes. She said that Richard's peeps had informed her that he needed to be somewhere at 4:30, and that she'd have to cut it short. I told her that it would have been really great if she'd have shared that detail with us before we got started. She just looked at me blankly, the way college girls look at you nowadays when you raise a point that pertains to the ILLOGIC of their actions, like, "Excuse me, but YOU JUST STEPPED RIGHT IN FRONT OF MY CAR WITHOUT LOOKING, and if I hadn't slammed on my brakes, you'd be on a stretcher right now, getting your ass hauled off to UVA Hospital." Blank stare. No acknowledgement of the reality of the sitution. No apology. No anger. Nothing. Blank stare. Generation Meh. How ironic. This lack of response completely illustrates the core theme of Richard's presentation:
NOBODY CARES ANYMORE. NOBODY QUESTIONS ANYMORE. NOBODY DEBATES ANYMORE. AND NOBODY'S OUTRAGED AT ALL THIS OUTRAGEOUS SHIT.

THIS IS FUCKED UP.

I shifted gears from my own baby-grumpiness towards this girl and did some interfacing with her, signing her on as my confidante. "You know, I really loved the points he made, and he was so passionate about them. But didn't he seem rather out of sorts?" And she said, "Well, he's probably tired from all the traveling." And I said, "Of course. But wasn't he way perkier at the morning lecture?" And she agreed that he seemed a bit strange. She'd attended the morning session, and concurred that he'd been super-energized and super-animated, and had presented all kinds of helpful suggestions to the audience as to how they could make a difference. I said, "Wow. When you tell me that, I can't help but wonder if he's bipolar. I mean, what could've happened between 12 noon and 3:00 pm to make him sink down SO low?" (This was a weird thing for me to say; I can't even remember the last time, if ever, that I played armchair psychiatrist and suggested that someone might be suffering with bipolar disorder.)

Richard remained in the foyer well past 4:30, conducting a Q & A session with the group of people who stood around him while the auditorium sat empty a few feet away from us. When I finally did speak with him, I felt like we genuinely connected; I shook hands with him warmly and thanked him, and he said, "At first, I wasn't sure if you were with me or against me, but then I could see that you were with me." And I said, "Oh, I was just doing whatever I could do to keep from bursting into tears--that's all." We looked directly into each other's eyes.

I shared a couple of my own ideas with him about the decline of America and of the consciousness of the general population. I explained that I keep my head out of politics for the most part and that I don't watch, listen to, or read the news because it all seems so rigged to me, but that I DO keep myself informed in other ways--specifically by way of observing what goes on in pop culture and in my immediate world. I cited a few examples--like a strange incident that I'd experienced at my health club a couple years ago that seemed to mirror a corrupt M.O. modeled by the Bush administration. The folks in charge were supposed to be serving us, but instead, we, the people, (the paying customers) were being treated like employees who were in trouble with the boss (or in danger of getting in trouble with the boss). The folks in charge were letting us know, in NO uncertain terms, that if we were to raise a complaint, or otherwise exercise our rights (as Americans and as health club members) to free speech, we would surely be accused of attempting to overthrow the government, and would stand to be punished--(or at the very least, ostracized). He told me that he's planning to discuss this very topic in his upcoming talks--that he'll be inviting audience members to look in their papers and select any random story about some screwy news event, and see how it traces back to "The System" and/or follows the model of "The Powers That Be."

I also made a point about the current trend in entertainment--how empty it is, how scary American Idol is, for example, and that it, too, correlates with the trend of decline that he'd addressed in his talk. I said, "When we were growing up, we had the Ed Sullivan show, we had Dylan, we had the Beatles..." And he chimed in and named some other great artists and commentators that were on TV in those days, and he said, "We had television that meant something." And then he turned to another audience member who was standing at his right side, and started speaking with her. Just like that. I leaned towards him, touched his shoulder and quietly said, "cheers," and left the building.

I headed next door to Alderman Library to get on a computer, and one of the college kids who'd attended the lecture walked by me, and I stopped him, and we had the BEST talk. His name was Colin--he was from Lynchburg, and had been a big fan of Civics in his middle school days. (He's a history major now.) I asked him what grade he was in, and he said, "15th," and we laughed. We had the most enlivening, enriching, connected, heart-driven talk ran right along the lines of the same topics that Richard had discussed, but our talk felt completely different. We were awake and buzzing and excited to be sharing these ideas with each other! And even as we touched on some of the more counter-intuitive elements of our culture and of modern life, (like the "travesty" of American Idol, which, I'm happy to report, were HIS words--hallelujah!) our spontaneous little pow-wow still had an overall tone of HOPEFULNESS.

Over the next few hours, I shared my experience of the lecture with a few other friends--relaying how the talk had affected me--and specifically, how I was struck with Richard's mental state.

The following morning, I went to the gym, and before I even got out of my car, I sat in the parking lot, thinking about all of this. I recalled "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" and how Richard played a wacked-out, messenger-like father who'd had a life-altering experience and a vision of something important that he couldn't share with the people around him. Just thinking about that made me cry.

So later that night, I went to Blockbuster and rented "Close Encounters," and it was exactly as I'd remembered it: he was crazed and tortured and isolated with his vision, obsessed with the "mountain" shape that he couldn't stop drawing, compelled to replicate it with shaving cream, with piles of dirt, with mashed potatoes on his plate at the dinner table, weeping and muttering like a frightened and confused prophet: "This means something. This is important." I'd shaken hands with that same man just one day before. The actor and the character were conjoined, and I'd heard the exact same message from him as he stood on that stage at UVA: "This means something. This is important."

The experience of seeing Richard has stayed with me in an unexpecetedly inspiring way, and yet, as brilliant and noble as I felt his efforts to be, the disturbing aspect of my close encounter with him remains equally prominent as I play the whole thing back in my mind.

Final note...in closing...

Right before I started this blog entry, I looked up Richard Dreyfuss on Wikipedia. In classic encyclopedic style, there was a string of facts listed with no emotional content or judgement attached to any part of it whatsoever: "Early Life," "Career," "Other Work/Political Activity," "Academic Life," "Books," and then: "Personal Life," with one-sentence, bulleted factoids such as: "Married so-and-so, had three children named such-and such, mother died in October 2000 due to complications from a stroke, etc." No commentary--only the facts.

And then, the next bullet:

"Dreyfuss suffers from bipolar disorder."

Just like that.

"In 2006, he appeared in Stephen Fry's documentary, Stephen Fry: The Secret Life of the Manic Depressive, in which Fry (who also has the disorder) interviewed him about his life."

Such a strange feeling came over me--some weird kind of exhilaration accompanied by a touch of guilt, which, I suppose was appropriate, given the fact that this isn't exactly the kind of thing you wanna get too excited about, as if you're the winning contestant on Jeopardy!

"Thank you, Alex. Standard DSM-IV Disorders for $800, please."

"Perky at noon, despondent at 3."

"What is...BIPOLAR??

Ding-ding!

I wished there was someone I could call. I just needed to say, "I can't believe what I just read! This is freaking me out!," but who was I gonna call--and who would have understood? It would have taken me 15 minutes just to explain the backstory.

Darn--where's that not-retarded-so-why-do-you-talk-that-way-baby-talkin' college girl NOW when I really need her??

********************************
Link to entire article in UVA Today:

Sunday, October 11, 2009

I'll come out of the closet when you stop calling yourself a queer.

Unabridged ramblings on the subject of SEX and labels! (Original notes sent to Eric Francis for an article on this month's full moon re: polyamory, sex, relationships, and the boxes we put ourselves in...e.g. the gay ghetto...and other works in regress...)
; - )
Much love,
Stevie Jay

After performing five shows in Providence, I got another walloping dose of the gay thing. For some reason, large numbers of GIGS (Gay-Identified Guys aka GI-Joes) showed up for these performances, and I was mind-boggled all over again that folks put themselves in boxes based on what they do sexually--or based on what they FANTASIZE about in terms of sex. (Like I say in the show: "It's bad enough we put ourselves in boxes based on what we do for a living. 'I'm a doctor.' 'I'm an architect.' 'I'm workin' on my Ph.D.' But at LEAST that's something you do 10-14 hours a day. But to put yourself in a box based on sexual activity?? I just wanna know: Well how much sex do you HAVE in one day, piggy?")

The thing that gets me, (one of many things--ha!) is how people WILLINGLY reinforce the very discrimination they so detest, unwittingly reinforcing the concept of man-on-top-of-woman as NORMAL. The moment you use the word "gay" (about yourself or about others) you've validated the premise that heterosexuality is normal and that anything other than regular ol' hetero stuff is a deviation. There's no way around this. GAY is the opposite of STRAIGHT and the very mentioning of it reinforces the baseline premise that "straight as normal."

When I was in Providence, I met men who were members of various social groups for gay men, e.g. yoga classes for gay men, rowing club for gay men, etc. And I DO understand the desire (and very real NECESSITY) to seek a safe haven in this world wherever and whenever possible. I suppose the question is: Unless the activity is SEX, is there really a NEED to group oneself together with other people based on sexual orientation? I realize this has been said a thousand times, but apparently it can't be said enough:
It's not as if "straight men" get together and form clubs and organizations based on their sexual orientation, like "Yoga Classes for Straight Men," or "Straight Men's Rowing Club." It's not as if sucking cock or eating pussy is an indicator of one's personal integrity or represents one's deepest values. (I don't think it even meets the criteria to qualify as a bona fide HOBBY, like stamp collecting or refurbishing vintage alarm clocks.) It's just sex. Basic human stuff. Like food. We all need to eat. I like to eat pizza and you like to eat hamburgers. End of subject. Are you actually telling me that we've got to have a SYMPOSIUM on this shit?--Pizza eaters versus hamburger-eaters--we need to practice tolerance?? I JUST don't get it.

I feel like this is a major blind spot --especially among folks who tend to be progressive and liberal in their thinking. So much gnashing of teeth about equal rights, calling for the dismantling of heteronormalcy while simultaneously using the word "queer" to describe people who are same sex oriented (sexually). The word "queer," first and foremost, means "odd," "weird," "abnormal," --and there are untold numbers of self-proclaimed "queer people" who passionately campaign for the mainstream world to accept them and stop regarding queer people as abnormal. Great--you've got a neon sign above your head that says "WEIRDO" and you're angry because people regard you as a weirdo, and you demand to be treated as normal and NOT-weird. It's a lot to ask.

People love people in all combinations. Men love men and women love women, and that's a reality of being human. And to take that simple reality and turn it into a "thing" via giving it a label adds all kinds of weight and significance and existential/social/interpersonal CONFLICT--none of which has anything to do with the reality of simply loving someone or simply being attracted to someone. Some of the best spiritual teachings deliver this very message: "Don't label things; don't draw lines. Render oneself vulnerable--like a child. Come into DIRECT contact with everything, with each other, with yourself, with whatever is before you. As soon as you've named it, you are no longer in DIRECT CONTACT with the thing, (whatever the thing is)--you've distorted it. Be nothing. Just be present with what IS." These are the basics of Zen Buddhism. ("Pointing at the moon is NOT the moon.") These are also supposedly the central teachings of Jesus --to strip oneself of all dogma and stand naked before God. And folks just WON'T do it. This stuff sounds great on paper or in a Sunday church sermon, but it's ultimately just another theory. Folks don't really GET IT--that this gay-straight shit is MADE UP. (They also didn't want to hear it from Alfred Kinsey. Same message. Not interested.)

This "direct experience" approach is also taught by art teachers, (drawing, painting, etc.) Drawing 101: You look at a chair. In order to accurately draw the chair, you have to forget the word "chair." You have to completely be present with the shapes and textures in your midst...and draw THAT. And the second you bring in the word "chair," you're no longer SEEING what is right there before you.

The same holds true for other labels as well. My friend, Gia, was once bitching to me about some "woman's issue," and she said, "You'd have to be a woman to understand." And I said, "Well maybe if you'd stop being a woman and start being a person, you wouldn't have this problem." My friend, Kendra, a few years back, was publishing a collection of her original poems, and she told me that she needed to decide whether or not to bill herself (in her bio) as a "black poet," or a "woman poet," or a "black woman poet," or a "poet." My vote, of course, was "poet."

And when you use the word QUEER, you're making it all the more difficult for everyone--especially for people who are struggling to open themselves up to their true feelings when it comes to their sexual attractions. And it's all the more HELLISH for men! As if the concept of being "gay" wasn't terrifying enough--now you're gonna use a word that carries the WORST connotations for men in this culture--fraught with shame and guilt and long-standing memories of humiliation and even of fear for one's life. Queer is the dirty word that, for decades, not only accompanied countless beatings of sensitive young men on the schoolhouse playground, but in fact, LED THE WAY for those beatings. The premise that we can all now set aside the violence and abuse associated with the word "queer" and use it freely is insensitive and arrogant to the point of being delusional. Queer is no more a viable replacement for "gay" or "homosexual" as the word "nigger" is a viable replacement for "black" of "African American." "Gook" does not replace "Asian" (as "Asian" came to replace the word "Oriental.") Like the word "nigger," the word "queer" is razor sharp. It burns. It's violent. It cuts deeply. And to toss it around in a cavalier manner, like "Queer Eye for The Straight Guy" is to unconsciously invoke an entire history of violence and trauma, and to do so with a big, clueless smile on your face. Nigger Theory? Kike Theory? Spic Theory? You can feel the jolt in your body when you hear those words. We're being told to de-sensitize ourselves to that jolt when we hear the word queer. I'd like to suggest the opposite: Do NOT become insensitive to the jolt. With all respect to the late and great Lenny Bruce--"QUEER" is NOT just a word. There is no history of violence directly associated with using the word "Asian" to describe a person from Japan or Korea. Queer=Nigger=Spic=Kike=On and on and on. Let's face it: The executive committee could have chosen to use Fuckin' Faggot, but they chose queer instead. What's the difference?

All this shit has to be erased and dismantled if people are ever going to be free to live and love honestly and fully. This isn't a political issue--this is as personal and intimate and essential to one's CORE ESSENCE as it gets. We've GOT to start teaching "love is love is love," and it can't just be some groovy-crunchie concept, or some academic blah-blah that's taught in a philosophy class. This IS the reality: people love and have attractions in a multitude of forms, and people are gonna have to start living this truth and making it real to themselves. How ridiculous that any human being would ever have to even THINK about coming out of some "closet" when it comes to love and sex. (I've got a new bumper sticker that says: "I'll come out of the closet when you stop calling yourself a queer.")

I'm very much tuned into men and the struggles around this whole topic. I see that men are starved for real, vulnerable, honest, loving interaction with one another. And in order for this to take place, men need to feel safe. (True for all people, of course.) And it is not my experience that The Gay World (of Gay Men) is a safe place--for ANYONE to be loving and vulnerable. I see The Gay Man Culture made up largely of developmentally-delayed men who behave like insecure junior high school girls, putting themselves and each other through the meat grinder. I do not see that The Gay World has, at its essence, ANYTHING to do with men loving men for real. There is sex and love between men, and then there's Gay Culture. Two separate entities. There are untold numbers of men who engage in loving, vulnerable relationships with one another that would never in a million years have ANYTHING to do with The Gay World--and for good reason. And sadly, there are untold numbers of gay-identified men who are 100% clueless about this--who have no idea of the ghetto inside which they've trapped themselves, and also have no idea of what they're missing, of what's possible for them in terms of deep, nurturing, loving connection with other men. They have no idea because they will NEVER see it inside a gay bar or inside the gay culture. It's just not there.


YouTubes

Are We Still Talking About That Gay Thing?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w34LCWZQNvU

Sexual Labels
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M1MOEI_dvZ8

2 articles

The Rainbow Network Interview
http://www.steviejay3.com/p-int_full.htm

Breaking Barriers - Stevie Jay Comes Home

http://www.steviejay3.com/p-int_full.htm